Potatohead People

Nick & Astro's Guide To The Galaxy

Image of Potatohead People - Nick & Astro's Guide To The Galaxy
Record Label
Bastard Jazz Recordings

About this item

Comprised of Vancouver producers and multi-instrumentalists Nick Wisdom and Astrological, Canadian duo Potatohead People boast a number of noteworthy accolades thanks to a their signature sound drawing influences from 90's boom-bap, future soul, classic jazz, deep house and boogie/funk. Beginning with a series of EP's, including their landmark "Kosmichemusik" EP, Potatohead People's productions quickly made their way to artists like Illa J who tapped the duo to produce his now critically acclaimed self-titled album, as well as producers like Kaytranada (who co-produced Illa J's "Strippers" with the pair). Supporters such as Soulection, Nightmares on Wax, Pomo, DJ Spinna, Big Boi, and Phife Dawg have also played formidable roles in championing the sound of Potatohead People worldwide.

Now with three years since their last release, 2015's critically acclaimed debut album Big Luxury, Potatohead People are back their long awaited new album Nick & Astro's Guide To The Galaxy (due out May 11th via Brooklyn label Bastard Jazz) The record picks up right where the pair left off, showcasing a leap forward in production chops, musicality, and songwriting. The first single "Quest For Love" "with it's neck snapping drum break, lush rhodes chords, cosmic synths, guitar & horn flourishes and unexpected musical changeups bring in the hip-hop infected musicality the duo has become so loved for, while Nick & Astro collaborate vocally on top. "Morning Sun" featuring Danish vocalist (and Anderson.Paak collaborator) Nanna.B is in part a melancholy piece with knocking drums, an infectious bassline and a soulful, shimmering hook, while "Do My Thing" featuring Canadian singer Kapok and Illa J is a neck-snapping Hip-Hop joint perfect for the dancefloor. "Liftin' Up" featuring San Francisco's K-Maxx ventures into West Coast boogie territories, while the album's closer "Rituals" goes for a deeper more atmospheric electronic vibe.


Millie says: Providing the most elective hip hop vibes around this stunning album, I particularly like the quantity of time Illa J appears and how it effortlessly creates a soulful hip hop masterpiece.


1 Late Show Theme
2 Morning Sun (feat. Nanna.B)
3 Quest For Love
4 Talking With Gawd
5 Do My Thing (feat. Kapok & Illa J)
6 No Sleep Til MTL
7 Liftin' Up (feat. K-Maxx)
8 All Alone (feat. Illa J & Moka Only)
9 Returning The Flavour (feat. Trian Kayhatu)
10 Change Of Heart (feat. Illa J)
11 El Himno De La Barbería
12 Rituals 

Back to top