Freddie Gibbs & Statik Selektah

Lord Giveth, Lord Taketh Away

About this item

Originally released back in 2011, "Lord Giveth, Lord Taketh Away", saw Freddie Gibbs team up with legendary East Coast beat maker Statik Selektah. The project was recorded in a single day, with the sessions being broadcast out on U-stream. Across the seven track EP, Gibbs showcases his hyper technical gansta rap flow, stepping out of his comfort zone rapping over some classic NYC boom bap production. The EP features guest spots from Trae The Truth, Smoke DZA, Termanology and more.

Omerta Inc. brings this collaborative project to vinyl for the first time. As well as featuring the seven tracks from the original project, the vinyl release includes two bonus tracks, "Crushin’ Feelings" and "Carry On" featuring Joey Bada$$.

It's certain to fill a hole left in anyone's life since they played "Piñata" for the 1000th time and a decidedly different sound than his solo efforts. This is straight OG gangsta shit, tipping his hat to the originators and the new school respectively. Gibbs' in excellent flow, talking about recent public events (his rape charge, his beef with Rick Ross, family shootings and his constant connection to the street...).


Matt says: He's back! Gary's most potty-mouthed and charismatic MC is joined, this time by Statik Selectik for another street-wise commentry on life and love.


1. Intro (feat. Slaine)
2. Lord Giveth, Lord Taketh Away
3. Rap Money (feat. Daz Dillinger)
4. Affiliated (feat. Reks & PUSH! Montana)
5. Wild Style (feat. Termanology & Fred Godson)
6. Already (feat. Trae The Truth)
7. Keep It Warm For Ya (feat. Smoke DZA & Chace Infinite)
8. Carry On
9. Crushin Feelings (feat. Joey Bada$$)

Back to top