Various Artists

A Totally New Sound

About this item

Somewhere between electro soul and melodramatic pop, this is music focused towards the youth and set in some strange dream.  
Aset was a collective founded by a group of individuals deeply involved in community improvement initiatives and the struggle for justice and equality. A project that would link motivated adults with talented young people in the Washington, DC metropolitan area.
The compilation takes songs from three released projects of Aset, and one semi-unreleased single. Latonya, a spunky 11 year old kid singing about divorce, love, and dancing. The poster child of Aset. Treo, a trio of high school gals in harmony singing about love and relationships. Whax, the high school boys who were a bit stranger; the silly side of Aset. All backed by The Aset Players. Release comes housed in a newly designed jacket with inner sleeve containing info on the label/artists and an interview with the label director, Mba Mbulu.


Patrick says: Last time out Smiling C were introducing us to the Arabic rap of Shams Dinn, and the imprint continue to expand our musical horizons on their second release, a retrospective of D.C. community initiative Aset. Youthful electro, jazz-funk and street soul with a hint of freestyle thrown in for good measure. It's a killer curio that'll make you move.


1. Latonya - Dance Time
2. The Aset Players - Skip
3. Latonya - Eyes Of A Child
4. Latonya - We Will Teach The Adults
5. Whax - Can I Take You Home (Long Version)
6. Treo - Demands Decrease Desire
7. Treo - Second Is Too Close
8. Treo - When Your Lover Has Gone 

You may also like

Back to top