Del The Funky Homosapien & Amp Live

Gate 13

Image of Del The Funky Homosapien & Amp Live - Gate 13

About this item

Del the Funky Homosapien and Amp Live – two of the most innovative and respected names in hip-hop – have just united for one of the most anticipated albums of the year, "Gate 13". The 16 tracks on Gate 13 mix hip-hop, funk, and electronica, and feature Goapele, Eligh, Simi, Zyme, Adult Karate, Mr. Micro, and James Melo, creating a 'portal into something progressive, futuristic, and fun.' After working together during Amp’s Radiohead remix project, these back-when friends from Oakland embark on 15 tracks filling an electronic melting pot, with guests including Goapele and Eligh.

Both have long bonded over equipment, technique and advancing the sound and style of the tight-knit Bay Area music community. Surging the dancefloor’s power source on opening single ‘Wheel of Fortune’, Del’s signature flow that has taken him from the tongue-twists of ‘Mistadobolina’ to the science fact of Deltron 3030 and the sunshine-in-a-bag of Gorillaz, squares up to Amp Live’s full-bodied basics.

“I’m trying to be more concise with my writing and my art in general” says Del, in tune to funk looking to stand for parliament. “Del has been talking about doing more straightforward, aggressive writing”, confirms Amp. “Everything that I was messing with kind of had that same theme”. On tracks such as ‘Wheel of Fortune’, ‘On the Ball’ and ‘Get Some of Dis’, ‘Gate 13’ brings the noise to scare the mumblers away. ‘Humble Pie’ goes back to the future to put a bully in his place, and ‘Chili Sauce’ and ‘Sit Ya Ass Down’ take control of synth boogie getting the club and daytime airwaves buffed up. Easily commuting to a nearby parallel universe (the Deltron-centric ‘The Glow’ and ‘Help’) with star-dusted synths, disco residue, space symphonies and the odd zany skit, ‘Gate 13’ has got it locked with the master key. 


Matt says: Fresh and funky stuff here that sits nicely alongside Cody Chestnut, Onra, Dam Funk and MNDSGN & Prophet. An accomplished and highly musical offering.


01. Attention (Intro)
02. Wheel Of Fortune
03. The Glow
04. Gravy Train
05. Funkrolla 3.0
06. Run Free
07. Help
08. Humble Pie
09. Fly Away
10. Far Beyond
11. Chili Sauce
12. Funkrolla 4.0
13. Sit Ya Ass Down
14. On The Ball
15. Get Some Of Dis
16. Lateral Thinking

Back to top