Brandon Wolcott & Emil

Music Of The Record

Image of Brandon Wolcott & Emil - Music Of The Record
Record Label

About this item

Following on from Aris Kindt's second album "Swann and Odette" here is the second release on Francis Harris new label Kingdoms. A1. Old Beginnings A2. The Other Place A3. Ritual B1. Pedestrian Jazz B2. Plasticity B3. (re)Turn Apart from their own works composers, musicians and producers Brandon Wolcott and Emil Abramyan already had a joint release with YouAndTheSpace Between, the opener on the Don't Break My Love release on Nicolas Jaar's Clown & Sunset label in 2012. In the same year the two have approached by theater artists Michael Silverstone and Abigail Browde of 600 Highwaymen to compose music for a new work of live performance called The Record. Aside from a simple series of prompts and directions, the music was composed independently of the choreography. Drawing from backgrounds in theatrical sound design, classical composition and experimental electronic music, Brandon Wolcott and Emil Abramyan sought to create a diverse tapestry of sound, striving for a dynamic emotional arc that might elude a sense of genre or recognizable form. The music is performed live, with Emil on cello and structured into six songs on the Mini-LP Music of The Record to be released at the end of November 2017. Brandon Wolcott is a Brooklyn based sound artist, composer and theatrical sound designer. His work has been heard at venues including The Pubic Theater, Lincoln Center, Park Avenue Armory, Mass Moca, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago and Centre Pompidou. He has released music with Wolf + Lamb Music, Archipel Records and Nicolas Jaar's Other People. His dance-music project Smirk, has been presented at venues and festivals around the world, including Communiky, Mutek, Save, Dispatch, and UnSound. As a sound designer/composer, Brandon has collaborated on a diverse array of projects, including work in dance, theater, installation and film.


1 Old Beginnings
2 The Other Places
3 Ritual
4 Pedestrian Jazz
5 Plasticity
6 (re)Turn 

Back to top