Lightmen Plus One

Fancy Pants

Image of Lightmen Plus One - Fancy Pants
Record Label

About this item

Revolutionary, spiritual jazz from the unlikely city of Houston, Texas, reissued for the first time. Drummer, bandleader and activist Bubbha Thomas had toured America with R&B revues, served as a session musician for Peacock and Back Beat Records, and played straight ahead jazz with legends before the political and social upheaval of the late 1960s led him to a path first charted by Coltrane.
Fancy Pants is his second LP with his Lightmen band and, like the deep-set, maverick jazz issued by the likes of Tribe and Strata East, is amongst the best of the 1970s jazz underground, a collective voice of resistance to the musical and cultural status quo. Presented in both stereo and mono mixes. Extensive booklet, download card for WAV files and footage of live performances included. 


A1. Sorrow Bitterness And Revolution (Now He’s Gone)
A2. Fancy Pants •
A3. On The Road Home

B1. Blue Tip •
B2. Hope •
B3. Song Of Praise
B4. Ujimma •
B5. Ashie…..

Record Two: The Mono Mix :

C1. Sorrow Bitterness And Revolution (Now He’s Gone) (Mono)
C2. Fancy Pants (Mono) •
C3. On The Road Home (Mono)

D1. Blue Tip (Mono) •
D2. Hope (Mono)
D3. Song Of Praise (Mono) •
D4. Ujimma (Mono)
D5. Ashie (Mono)

Back to top