Various Artists

First Light - Volume 1 Compiled By CC:Disco

Image of Various Artists - First Light - Volume 1 Compiled By CC:Disco
Record Label

About this item

The inimitable CC:DISCO! has partnered with hyped underground label Soothsayer to curate the first in a collaborative series of compilations entitled First Light.
Australia’s reigning champion of tasteful electronic music, CC:DISCO! has procured exclusive tracks from emerging and undiscovered artists across genres such as boogie, Balearic, funk, disco and house – with each sound piquing her interest, culminating in a finished product that would undeniably slot into a CC:DISCO! set. Her mission statement? "Less chin stroking, more dancing." It captures what CC:DISCO! is all about: the dancefloor. The fast-ascending Victorian DJ has enjoyed a meteoric rise in the last 12 months to be the name on everyone’s lips. After cutting her teeth at Melbourne institutions like Daydreams and Boney, word began to spread of CC’s paranormal dancefloor abilities and suddenly CC:DISCO! was officially ‘a thing’. Within just a couple of years, she has crushed the closing set at Pitch Music and Arts Festival, and graced a multitude of festival stages such as Meredith (now scripted in local folklore), Croatia’s Dimensions, and Sugar Mountain's hallowed Boiler Room. CC:DISCO! has become a staple presence at Soothsayer parties since the birth of the label two years ago, and an easy family dynamic developed. That family has come together for Volume 1 of "First Light", a collection of brand new tracks from Australia and New Zealand’s thriving local scenes. Jace XL will be keeping good company on the compilation with the inclusion of tracks from Sui Zhen, Chord Memory Band, Nite Fleit, Rings Around Saturn, Manuel Darquart and Love Deluxe just to name a few, with the full track listing and release date being revealed in the new year. These songs – sourced by CC:DISCO! through chance meetings, fangirl moments and dogged emails – come together to create a body of music that is oddly satisfying and timeless. 


A1 - Angophora - Settled
A2 - Rings Around Saturn - Abarth
A3 - Jace XL - Really Want That
B1 - Chord Memory Band - Reachin’ Out
B2 - Love Deluxe - Ivan's Hymn
B3 - Sui Zhen - No More Words
C1 - Manuel Darquart - Dream Sequence
C2 - Ben Houghton - Don't Worry
C3 - James IV - Freda's Jam
D1 - Adonidia - Intermission Theme
D2 - River Yarra + Tom Baker - Babylonia
D3 - Nite Fleit - Al Bebe

You may also like

Back to top