For Now

Image of DMA's - For Now

About this item

An indie trio from Sydney, Australia that throws back to the Manchester scene of the early '90s, DMA's came together around 2012 when Johnny Took and Tommy O'Dell -- members of the local rock band Underlights -- started writing songs with guitarist Matt Mason. Working together as three songwriters, the trio quickly developed a sound that drew from early-'90s Manchurian indie rock, with particular likenesses to some of the scene's greats like Oasis, Primal Scream, and Happy Mondays. 

Their latest sees the three-piece taking their melodic jangling snarl and smoothing out the edges into a thoroughly polished whole, 'Dawning' for example displaying the melodicism of the obvious manc comparisons, but with a modern twist, employing hazed-out synths and shimmering reverb while 'Warsaw' wouldn't sound out of place in a feel-good set-piece, featuring solar flare and hazy edges, all warming the senses before the slow and tingling comedown of the latter passages. 

It's a more nuanced outing, but still employing the benchmarks that gave the band their inital appeal. Brilliantly executed, and perfectly pitched, this is a perfect follow-up and companion to their last outing. Superb. 


1. For Now
2. Dawning
3. Time & Money
4. In The Air
5. The End
6. Warsaw
7. Do I Need You Now?
8. Break Me
9. Lazy Love
10. Tape Deck Sick
11. Health
12. Emily Whyte

Back to top