Kayo Dot


Image of Kayo Dot - Hubardo
Record Label

About this item

Post-rock, prog fusion, jazz and black metal: incorporates every style. Finally back in print, the seventh studio album by the veteran avant-garde band Kayo Dot. Meaning “lantern” or “lamp” in the Enochian language of 16th century magicians John Dee and Edward Kelley, Hubardo follows the epic and heartbreaking narrative of a meteor falling to earth and the alchemical transformation of a lonely poet observer. This album displays aspects of the band’s many forms, even moments that hark back to the act’s former identity, Maudlin of the Well (including an appearance by MOTW vocalist Jason Byron). It is a dizzying trip through genres and moods that blossoms in wild directions, an out-of-control chemical reaction. From beautiful post-rock passages and demented ballads to tripped-out 70s prog fusion, jazz and black metal, Hubardo masterfully incorporates just about every style imaginable during its nearly 100 minute run time. “After a decade of trying to live up to the precedent set by their debut, Kayo Dot has finally reached – and surpassed – the level of not only themselves, but of everyone else within their realm of music.”


A1 The Black Stone
A2 Crown-In-The-Muck

B1 Thief
B2 Vision Adjustment To Another Wavelength

C1 Zlida Caosgi (To Water The Earth)
C2 The First Matter (Saturn In The Guise Of Sadness)

D1 The Second Operation (Lunar Water)
D2 Floodgate

E1 And He Built Him A Boat
E2 Passing The River

F The Wait Of The World

You may also like

Back to top