Jennifer Lara

Weekend Loving

Image of Jennifer Lara - Weekend LovingImage of Jennifer Lara - Weekend Loving
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label

About this item

"Weekend Loving" from Jennifer Lara is a perfect blend of boogie funk, roots reggae and lovers rock. Produced by Black Solidarity Records in 1985, this album is a masterpiece from the Studio One princess. Recorded at Tuff Gong and Music Mountain studios in Jamaica, the rhythm tracks are played by some of the best musicians from the island in the sun: Lincoln ‘Style’ Scott (Drum), Errol ‘Flabba’ Holt (Bass), Robbye Lyn (Piano & Synthetiser), Dean Frazer & Ronald ‘Nambo’ Robinson (Horns). This reissue was carefully remastered from Black Solidarity master tape, now presented as a double LP 45 rpm DJ friendly edition. The original Limonious artwork was reloaded and a bonus track was added to complete the set: ’In My Time’, an obscure slow synth groove, full of hope and melancholy.

Jennifer Lara was first taken to Studio One in 1969 by keyboardist Richard Ace, who was a session musician. She never left the Studio One family and became resident harmonist. She added backing vocals to the songs of some of the camp’s biggest names, including Delroy Wilson, Freddie McGregor, Dennis Brown and Sugar Minott. In 1974, Jennifer Lara recorded her debut album with Coxsone Dodd at Studio One in Brentford Road. The results of the sessions appeared on ‘Studio One Presents Jennifer Lara’, which was an instant success. Jennifer Lara was one of Clement 'Coxsone' Dodd’s protégés. One year after Coxsone passed, she died at the Kingston Public Hospital. She is survived by two children, daughter Ika and son Cheka. Jennifer Lara was a very likeable person, got on with everyone. She was involved in many benefit concerts to help to poor and the needy in Jamaica. May your soul rest in peace, we love you Jennifer.


Matt says: The younger or more electronically inclined might remember Lara from Rhythm & Sound's "Queen In My Empire". This set from earlier in her career displays a singer on the rise to the top; full of magic, vigor and feeling.


A1. Big Surprise
A2. Weekend Loving
B1. Off The Air
B2. Don't Play Games
B3. Don't Take Love For Granted
C1. Perilous Time
C2. Love Has Finally Come At Last
C3. Let The Say
D1. In My Time (Bonus)
D2. In My Time Version (Bonus) 

Back to top