Roy Harper

Return Of The Sophisticated Beggar

Image of Roy Harper - Return Of The Sophisticated Beggar
Record Label
Music On Vinyl

About this item

Roy Harper’s first solo album was originally released in 1966, The Sophisticated Beggar, and by 1970 he had met up with Pink Floyd manager Peter Jenner and re-released his debut as Return Of The Sophisticated Beggar.

Roy Harper’s music can be best defined as progressive folk, but as his work is so varied there are many instances where his music transgressed these genre confinements.

He worked alongside greats like Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin, David Gilmour of Pink Floyd, The Nice, Kate Bush and Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull. Roy Harper is also recognized for his vocal contribution on “Have A Cigar”, the third track on Pink Floyd’s 1975 album Wish You Were Here.


1 China Girl 3:36
2 Goldfish 2:47
3 Sophisticated Beggar 5:07
4 My Friend 4:06
5 Big Fat Silver Aeroplane 3:39
6 Blackpool 5:08
7 Legend 3:43
8 Girlie 3:02
9 October The Twelfth 5:54
10 Black Clouds 4:31
11 Mr. Station Master 3:04
12 Forever 3:27
13 Committed
14 Hup Hup Spiral

Back to top