Various Artists

Strictly Rhythm Underground 90-97: 3cd Remastered Boxset

Image of Various Artists - Strictly Rhythm Underground 90-97: 3cd Remastered Boxset
Record Label

About this item

Founded in 1989 by Mark Finkelstein and Gladys Pizarro, New York house music label Strictly Rhythm quickly established itself as one of dance music’s most successful and influential record labels of all time, and one which defined house music right throughout the '90s. Home to such significant artists as Roger Sanchez, Erick Morillo, Todd Terry, Louie Vega, Kenny Dope, Armand Van Helden, Josh Wink, Ultra Nate & DJ Pierre, Strictly Rhythm was without doubt the leading US house music label of the decade. Taking you on a journey through arguably the label’s finest hour – from shortly after its inception up to the late ’90s – for this compilation, we have deliberately stayed away from its biggest hits, though no less an important part of the Strictly Rhythm story, in favour of the biggest club classics and overlooked gems. Over three CDs, it’s almost – though not quite – a history of New York house music itself. Includes a number of the label’s most notable tracks from the producers Josh Wink, Masters at Work, Danny Tenaglia, Armand Van Helden, Li’l Louis, Roy Davis Jr and Satoshi Tomiie to name but a few - plus a plethora of Strictly Rhythm’s essential underground club favourites and hidden treasures, many of which have never before been released on CD. Co-compiled and with full sleeve notes by Fabric DJ and author of Last Night A DJ Saved My Life, Bill Brewster.


Disc: 1
1. The Warning (Inner Mix)
2. Luv Dancin’ (In Deep Mix)
3. Just A Touch (Jazz Element Mix)
4. Two Notches (Warfare Mix)
5. Waterfalls (4 A.M. Mix)
6. This Beat Is Over
7. “Lil” Louie’s Anthem
8. Boom (Hard Mix)
9. That String Track
10. Can You Feel It (In House Dub)
11. Rise From Your Grave (Hard Head Mix)
12. Master Blaster (Turn It Up) (Tha Wild Pitch Mix)

Disc: 2
1. Equinox (Heavenly Club Mix)
2. Muzik Is Life (Life Long Mix)
3. Stompin Grounds (Stompin Ground Mix)
4. Deep Inside
5. Need Your Love (Original Mix)
6. Who Dares To Believe In Me? (Original Mix)
7. Northern Lights (Old Skool Re-Edit)
8. I Could Be This (Transy Tribal Mix)
9. Love & Happiness (Yemaya Y Ochun) (12” Club Mix)

Disc: 3
1. The Theme (The Legend)
2. Witch Doktor (Dark Ages Mix)
3. Higher State Of Consciousness (Tweekin Acid Funk)
4. Freaky (The Bar Heads Mix)
5. Break Night
6. Reach (“Little” “More” Mix)
7. Demon Dreams (Gravediggin Mix)
8. All For You
9. Keep On Groovin’ (Ian’s Fierce Mix)

You may also like

Back to top