Image of Atlas - Breeze
Record Label
Studio Mule

About this item

After announcing themselves on the world stage with the wonderful “Midnight In Tokyo”, Studio Mule treat us to a vinyl reissue of one of the best and most complex Japanese jazz fusion albums, 1987’S “Breeze” by group Atlas. Hiroyuki Namba is one of the most important Japanese keyboardists of the 80s with a legacy which includes Japanese cosmic classic “Who Done It?” and “Tropical Explosion”, a sought-after gem by diggers. In addition to his work with progressive rock band “Sense Of Wonder”, he’s also an integral part of Tatsuro Yamashita’s band. Eiji Kawamura is a highly respected arranger who has lent his ear and skill set to projects by major recording artists Kyoko Koizumi and Hideaki Tokunaga. The trio is rounded out by skilled studio musician Toshiro Imaizumi, whose innovative keys have graced releases by Ichiro Nitta and Tazumi Toyoshima amongst others. The album opens with the soothing sounds of ocean waves, an evocative introduction to the melancholic fusion number “Mediterranean Breeze”, which sets the Balearic mood for the whole album. “Simpatia” is an album highlight with a euphoric feel that could be Tokyo’s answer to the sounds of Ibiza―an obscure Japanese gem. 'After Brunch With You” is a sunny samba fusion with a playful, bright piano melody, followed by “Summer Breeze,” an electric fusion jam that sounds like a lost Holger Czukay composition. Breezy mellow tune “never come into your eyes” reminds you of the sentimental feeling one gets around the time summer’s about to be over. Another album highlight, “Indige,” is one of Japan’s most unique dance tracks of the time, an electric disco stomper that sound like it could’ve been produced by Todd Terje. “Breeze For Siesta” features Toshiro Imaizumi’s beautiful piano paying, a relaxing song that wouldn’t sound out of place on ECM. “Love Beach” blends prog influences with fusion in a way only Hiroyuki Namba can, while the album ends with “Madrigl,” a magical song with dramatic and melancholic moments, full of quintessentially Japanese sense of beauty.


Patrick says: Another week, another Japanese classic, and this time it's another gem I've been begging gets reissued. Thankfully Studio Mule have heard my prayers, delivering an excellent pressing of Atlas' uber-Balearic jazz fusion winner "Breeze". Alongside coastal coolers "Mediterranean Breeze" and "Simpatia" be sure to check out the electrodisco insanity of "Indige".


A1 Mediterranean Breeze
A2 Simpatia
A3 After Brunch With You
A4 Summer Breeze
A5 Never Come Into Your Eyes
B1 Indige
B2 Breeze For Siesta
B3 Walkin' Around In Summer Sand
B4. Love Beach
B5. Madrigl

Back to top