Hampshire & Foat

The Honeybear

Image of Hampshire & Foat - The Honeybear
Record Label
Athens Of The North

About this item

After the success of 'Galaxies Like Grains of Sand', Warren and Greg retreated back to the Isle of Wight to start work on long discussed concept album based on a fictional children's book The Honey Bear. Each track a chapter of the book, hypnotic folk pieces mixed with ambient field recordings that Warren and Greg collected around the beaches, cliffs and gardens of the island.

They brought everything together at home, organically forming this beautiful ambient folk tale during the island's idyllic summer evenings. After finishing the initial mixes on the island they brought the tapes up to Scotland and overdubbed with Strings, Oboe and Flute. Whether your 5 or 50, the charm and beauty of The Honeybear is undeniable.

Children fairytale book concept album
Limited Edition pressing


Millie says: The Honeybear beautifully captures the soft mystical tones of this harrowing ambient folk album following their previous record 'Galaxies Like Grain Of Sand'. The inspiration behind the album of it being a children’s fairytale, you can immediately get the sense of the whimsical innocence by the lovely fluttering of string instruments.


1. The Promise
2. Call Of The Forrest
3. Crows Feet
4. The Fly And I
5. Winter Bound
6. The Hive
7. Honey Dreams
8. The Elderflower
9. Rain Clouds
10. Honey For A Penny

Back to top