A Secret Wish

Image of Propaganda - A Secret Wish
Record Label
Union Square

About this item

If you're planning on doing a reissue, let this release be your guiding light. Not only does this fresh pressing deliver Propaganda's seminal synth-pop / industrial / dark disco debut LP in all its remastered glory, it also features brand new sleevenotes detailing the band's conception and the album's creation. Comprehensively researched and written by renowned ZTT archivist and journalist Ian peel, these new sleevenotes cover in-depth the story of the album & the period in which it was written & recorded, the key players in its creation, the craft and instrumentation, the impact upon release and its legacy some 34 years later. The booklet is accompanied by memorabilia from Ian’s personal archive. If you're new to the Propaganda experience, the Düsseldorf four piece caught the attention of synth wielding super producer Trevor Horn shortly after their 1983 inception, and landed at ZZT with a fresh take on synth pop, an ultra noir identity and a clutch of killer tunes. Hitting the studio with guest appearances from Moritz Von Oswald, David Sylvian and Derek Forbes, Propaganda soon worked their weirdo magic on winners like "Dream Within A Dream", "Duel", "P Machinery", "Dr Mabuse" and "The Chase", stepping out of the shadows of FGTH to match Art Of Noise as the most ZTT band imaginable.


Patrick says: Propaganda's pop-industrial synth pop masterpiece is back on wax in lavish reissued fashion. Boasting a thick remaster, biographical liner notes, an in-depth 6 page booklet and a 12x12" art print, this is the definitive version of this classic release.


A1. Dream Within A Dream
A2. The Murder Of Love 
A3. Jewel / Duel
B1. P–Machinery
B2. Sorry For Laughing
B3. Dr. Mabuse (First Life) 
B4. The Chase
B5. The Last Word / Strength To Dream

Back to top