Tony Allen

Black Voices

Image of Tony Allen - Black Voices
Record Label

About this item

The man who put the beat into afro-beat is back! Comet deliver a reissue of "Black Voices", featuring remastered versions and a new bonus track “Ariya (Psyche Juju Mix)”.
Tony Allen completely rewrote the books on what was possible within the AfroBeat genre with his stunning 1999 album, Black Voices. When one considers exactly "what" is going on throughout Black Voices, it is quite mind boggling, as it is almost impossible to associate a minimalist, electronic feel with the massive walls of sound which Allen was known to create. But those walls of sound are still very present, just delivered with an entirely new feel due to the presence of the producer, Doctor L. He takes the mesmerizing rhythms that Allen creates and he spins them into a stunningly modern sound. While Doctor L's production work throughout Black Voices is truly fantastic, it is clear that the genius behind the album lies within the mind of Tony Allen. With the absolutely mesmerizing, funky grooves that Allen creates, it comes as little surprise that the vocal collaborations are handled by members of one of the funkiest bands in history: Parliament-Funkadelic.
For almost two decades, "Black Voices" has remained a stunning example of the fantastic results that can occur when seemingly unrelated genres clash. 


A1. Asiko
A2. Get Together
B1. Black Voices
B2. The Same Blood
C1. Asiko (In A Silent Mix)
D1. Black Voices (We Are We Play Mix)
D2. ARIYA (Psychedelic Juju Mix)

Back to top