Jeff Resnick


Image of Jeff Resnick - SAC
Record Label
Outernational Sounds

About this item

Organically funky, laced with avant-garde synth textures, and studded with breakbeats, the second Outernational release is Jeff Resnick’s unique, ultra-rare, 1978 promotional recording for the School for American Craftsmen, at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Five tracks of soul jazz and modal fusion — re-modelling Trane, and opening with a variation of Norwegian Wood — by a local group including trumpeter Jeff Tyzik and pianist Sonny Kompanek; then Resnick mostly solo for the second side, when the money ran out, multi-tracking synthesizers on his home set-up, in an engrossing blend of reflective abstraction, grooving electro and spiritualised fourth-world tropicalism.


01. Wood
02. Metal
03. Weaving
04. Glass
05. Clay
06. Painting
07. Printmaking
08. Foundations
09. Communications Design

Back to top