Superstar & Star

Mastermind EP

Image of Superstar & Star - Mastermind EP
Record Label
Porridge Bullet

About this item

Superstar & Star are back on Porridge bullet with their first EP proper: "Mastermind". A collection of seven songs from Superstar’s vaults available for the first time on an Estonian vinyl record! Neville Lawrence immigrated from his home country of Trinidad to New York in the mid 80’s where, a few years later, following his fleeting East coast success, he re-settled with wife Anne (Star) in Omaha, Nebraska where they continued to perform, produce and record music until the present day. After releasing a cassette, 7” and 12” single with the label last year, this seven track collection sees the eccentric genius expanded upon, including the crazed oddball juke of "Rolling So", the fractured 90s house of "Any WhereIn The US Is A Party" and "I Am Dreaming" plus the broken 80s stomp of "No More Sorrow". All tracks come frazzled and fried like they've been baked on VHS for too long, but possess a fuzzy and scuzzy character like nothing else out there! If you liked the more experimental side of PPU (in particularly the Trash Men) or the lo-fi, DIY house experiments emanating from Africa in the late nineties or, indeed, the queen of Estonian DIY-hybrids, Maria Minerva, then there's PLENTY to get stuck into here! Totally wacked out - whether this is genius or madness is completely up to you to decide. 


1. Rolling So
2. Any Where In The US Is A Party
3. I Want You
4. Kicking At Home
5. No More Sorrow
6. I Ain't Missing You
7. I Am Dreaming 

Back to top