Moritz Von Oswald & Ordo Sakhna

Moritz Von Oswald & Ordo Sakhna

Image of Moritz Von Oswald & Ordo Sakhna - Moritz Von Oswald & Ordo Sakhna
Record Label
Honest Jon's

About this item

A kind of intimate scrapbook of the startling collaboration between the techno maestro and this long-standing musical collective based in Bishkek, devoted to the roots music of Kyrgyzstan. Loose-leaved but balanced, lucid and intimate, it sets out from stunning a cappella and virtuosic komuz and kylak, mouth harp and traditional percussion: not field, but expert studio recordings, using marvellous vintage microphones, made over several days in Berlin. Further, a few of these are deftly treated by Moritz, using Reichian de-synced double-tracking, and discreet effects. Also two ten-minute dubs: a deadly, signature Berlin steppers, plus its version; and an echoing, mystical drum session, recorded live on stage in Bishkek. And a side-long, dream-like summation: the locomotive, oceanic, clangorous, dread Facets.
Ravishing, rooted, searching music; beautifully presented.


Sil says: A very soothing, blissful journey of an album. Sakhna's melodies and instruments coupled with Von Oswalds well-known production skills have produced a truly essential 2017 release.


1. Koirong Ku
2. Koichulrdyn Kongur Kuu
3. Drums
4. Fragments
5. Tushumdo
6. Facets
7. Mash Kambarkan
8. Talasym
9. Kolkhoz Kechteri
10. Bishkek, May 2016
11. Draught
12. Draught Dub Improvisation

Back to top