Virna Lindt


Image of Virna Lindt - Shiver

About this item

Les Disques du Crepuscule present an extended double disc reissue of Shiver, the acclaimed debut album by seminal Swedish artist Virna Lindt, originally released by The Compact Organization in 1983.

Written and produced by Virna Lindt and Tot Taylor, Shiver offers 12 slices of chic orchestrated pop informed by ‘foreign film’ soundtracks, movie composers John Barry and Ennio Morricone, Modernist musique concrete and Cold War spy thrillers. The album spawned three singles: Attention Stockholm, Intelligence and I Experienced Love. For the most part Lindt provides the voiceover for her own narratives, occasionally striking reflective poses amid orchestral swells and multi-layered atmospherics; a clear influence on later acts such as Pulp, St Etienne and Air.

This new edition of Shiver showcases acoustically-enhanced mixes prepared by Taylor and Lindt in 1997, augmented with non-album singles Model Agent and Young & Hip, and immaculate instrumental versions of key album tracks such as Underwater Boy and The Dossier on Virna Lindt. The extended tracklist also finds room for a leftfield cover of Windmills of Your Mind, originally written by Michel Legrand and Alan & Marilyn Bergman for The Thomas Crown Affair and recorded for the Crepuscule compilation album Moving Soundtracks.

Cover photography is by E.A. Janes. 


Patrick says: If you have a soft-spot for arch art pop, frothy euro capers and some of the finest leftfield synth serenades you'll ever hear, you need this holy grail from Virna Lindt. There's dubby dreampop via "I Experienced Love" (well Balearic), the cinematic swoon of "The Dosier" (a proto-Air cut which could also have made it onto "This Is Hardcore"), the killer aqua-cosmic love song "Underwater Boy" and the new wave romp "Intelligence" - all present and totally correct. If that weren't enough, there's a whole additional disc of delights I haven't had a chance to sample yet. Grab one while you can.


A1. Shiver
A2. I Experienced Love
A3. Pillow Talk
A4. Swedish Modern
A5. I Beat The System
A6. The Dossier On Virna Lindt
B1. Attention Stockholm
B2. Underwater Boy
B3. Groom
B4. Letter To Sergei
B5. Intelligence
C1.The Windmills Of Your Mind
C2. Model Agent
C3. Young & Hip
C4. Man Talk
C5. Groom
C6. Episode 1
D1. Attention Stockholm (Instr.)
D2. Shiver (Instr.)
D3. The Dosier On Virna Lindt (Instr.)
D4. I Beat The System (Instr.)
D5. Underwater Boy (Reprise)

Back to top