The Durutti Column

The Guitar And Other Machines - Remastered Edition

Image of The Durutti Column - The Guitar And Other Machines - Remastered Edition

About this item

Factory Benelux presents an expanded 3x disc deluxe edition of The Guitar and Other Machines, the sixth studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, originally released by Factory Records in 1987.

The origin of The Guitar and Other Machines was the Christmas present given by Factory founder Tony Wilson to Durutti mainman Vini Reilly in 1985. “He gave me another kick and bought me a load of electronic instruments,” revealed Reilly at the time. “I never dreamt of getting into this electronic thing, and I struggled and fought and stayed up til half seven in the morning and really worked on it. I know that Tony’s got this vision and I persevered. And I found a way of using a sequencer that isn’t like New Order – it’s my way, and it’s my music.”

Produced by Stephen Street (The Smiths; Morrissey), the album also features percussionist Bruce Mitchell and viola player John Metcalfe.


CD Tracklist:
Disc 1
1. Arpeggiator
2. What It Is To Me (Woman)
3. Red Shoes
4. Jongleur Grey
5. When The World
6. U.S.P.
7. Bordeaux Sequence
8. Pol In B
9. English Landscape Tradition
10. Miss Haymes
11. Don’t Think You’re Funny
12. Dream Topping
13. You Won’t Feel Out Of Place
14. 28 Oldham Street
15. LFO Mod
16. Catos Con Guantes

Disc 2
1. Florence Sunset
2. All That Love And Maths Can Do
3. San Giovanni Dawn
4. For Friends In Italy
5. Our Lady Of The Angels
6. Red Shoes (VR Vocal)
7. Song For Les Preger
8. For Rebecca
9. Final Cut
10. When The World (Newson Mix)
11. Arpeggiator II
12. Pol In AB
13. 30 Oldham Street
14. When The World (Soundtrack)
15. Our Lady
16. White Rabbit
17. When The World (Version)

Disc 3
1. Prayer (live)
2. Arpeggiator (live)
3. Our Lady Of The Angels (live)
4. Pol In B (live)
5. Miss Haymes (live)
6. For Mother (live)
7. Requiem (live)
8. Jacqueline (live)
9. Elevator Sequence (live)
10. The Missing Boy (live)
11. When The World (live)
12. Tomorrow (live)
13. English Landscape Tradition (live)
14. Bordeaux Sequence (live)

2xLP Tracklist:
Disc 1

A1. Arpeggiator
A2. What It Is To Me (Woman)
A3. Red Shoes
A4. Jongleur Grey
A5. When The World
A6. U.S.P.
B1. Bordeaux Sequence
B2. Pol In B
B3. English Landscape Tradition
B4. Miss Haymes
B5. Don’t Think You’re Funny

Disc 2

C1. Arpeggiator (live)
C2. Our Lady Of The Angels (live)
C3. Pol In B (live)
C4. Miss Haymes (live)
D1. When The World (live)
D2. English Landscape Tradition (live)
D3. Bordeaux Sequence (live)

Back to top