Robert Johnson

King Of The Delta Blues Singers Vol. 2

Image of Robert Johnson - King Of The Delta Blues Singers Vol. 2
Record Label
8th Records

About this item

The story of influential blues musician Robert Leroy Johnson is the stuff of music legend. Stories go that as a young man in rural Mississippi he became part of a Faustian pact with The Devil to become a blues musician. Whether the tale was true or not does not take away from the immense legacy Johnson brought with him. Even though his recordings were released more than a decade and a half before the inception of rock and roll music, they provided a solid blueprint for the genre, as well as guitar techniques that were revolutionary at the time.

The music world rediscovered Robert Johnson in 1961, with the release of King Of The Delta Blues Singers, which kickstarted the blues rock movement, and was considered a badge of coolness at the time. Nine years later, as blues-inspired artists like Led Zeppelin and Eric Clapton were riding high, Columbia Records decided the time was right to release a second volume of King Of The Delta Blues Singers. Like its predecessor, the songs on volume two were recorded in the span of 1936 and 1937, and consisted primarily of Vocalion Records master recordings, but with the addition of five previously unreleased tracks and alternate takes. Though the follow-up was not as popular or influential as the first, it was still a critical smash, containing the blues standards "Sweet Home Chicago" and "Love In Vain", and has been listed by Rolling Stone magazine as one of the 500 Greatest Albums of all time.


A1. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
A2. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom
A3. Sweet Home Chicago
A4. Rambling On My Mind
A5. Phonograph Blues
A6. They're Red Hot
A7. Dead Shrimp Blues
A8. Preachin' Blues

B1. I'm A Steady Rollin' Man
B2. From Four Till Late
B3. Little Queen Of Spades
B4. Malted Milk
B5. Drunken Hearted Man
B6. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
B7. Honeymoon Blues
B8. Love In Vain

Back to top