Robert Johnson

King Of The Delta Blues Singers

Image of Robert Johnson - King Of The Delta Blues Singers
Record Label
8th Records

About this item

The story of influential blues musician Robert Leroy Johnson is the stuff of music legend. Stories go that as a young man in rural Mississippi he became part of a Faustian pact with The Devil to become a blues musician. Whether the tale was true or not does not take away from the immense legacy Johnson brought with him. Even though his recordings were released more than a decade and a half before the inception of rock and roll music, they provided a solid blueprint for the genre, as well as guitar techniques that were revolutionary at the time. Robert Johnson's music was only available on Grammophone singles until 1961, which saw the release of a definitive compilation of Johnson's recordings.

King Of The Delta Blues Singers was a collection of 16 mono recordings cut from 1936 to 1937, and is widely considered the linchpin for the electric blues and blues-rock movement of the 1960s. The album was a critical smash, a badge of coolness during the time, and is now considered one of the greatest albums of all time. It was the first album to be inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame, and greatly impacted the development of artists like Bob Dylan, John Mayall, and Eric Clapton, who most famously had a smash hit on rock radio with his band Cream's cover of "Cross Road Blues


A1. Crossroads Blues
A2. Terraplane Blues
A3. Come On In My Kitchen
A4. Walking Blues
A5. Last Fair Deal Gown Down
A6. 32-20 Blues
A7. Kindhearted Woman Blues
A8. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day

B1. Preaching Blues
B2. When You Got A Good Friend
B3. Rambling On My Mind
B4. Stones In My Passway
B5. Traveling Riverside Blues
B6. Milkcow's Calf Blues
B7. Me And The Devil Blues
B8. Hellhound On My Trail

Back to top