Image of Revbjelde - Revbjelde
Record Label
Buried Treasure

About this item

Berkshire based trio Revbjelde (pronounced REV-BA-JELD) release their debut LP exclusiely for Record Store Day.

Alan Gubby, an audio archivist best known for his work unearthing classic BBC Radiophonic Workshop recordings by Delia Derbyshire & John Baker, is joined on this record by sound artist Richard Bentley, and bassist & harp player Roy Goss.


“It's our Brexit album. We set light to the family's beloved Victorian piano & sledgehammered it to bits"

Combining medieval British folk instrumentation with industrial electronics, field recordings, lurching ethnic percussion, tape loops & jazz improvisations, Revbjelde’s sound oscillates between anger & reverence, alluding to a divided, decaying land of magic & tradition that perhaps never was.


Barry says: This is an odd proposition indeed, but it's bloody brilliant. Brimming with electronic excursions, weird jazzy sections and cosmic spaced-out breakdowns. Swirling proggy passages, whirring oscillators and heady freak-outs. A cohesive but multi-faceted treat for the senses.


A1 The Weeping Tree
A2 Port Of Arundel
A3 Buccaboo
A4 Lankin Jig
A5 Cloister
A6 Out Of The Unknown
B1 Reading Abbey
B2 Tidworth Drum
B3 Carry My Woes
B4 For Albion

Back to top