Oh Sees


Image of Oh Sees - Orc
Record Label
Castle Face Records

About this item

The newly shorn Oh Sees waste no time in racing headlong into nightmarish battle with the mighty Orc, and wouldn’t ya know it, they’ve clawed even farther up the ghastly peak last year’s A Weird Exits stormed so satisfyingly. The band is in tour-greased, anvil on a balance beam, gut-pleasingly heavy form, nimbly braining with equal dashes of abandon and menace on this fresh batch of bruisers and brooders, hypnotically stirred into to the cauldron of chaos you’ve come to expect from, ahem, Oh Sees. Fresh blood Paul Quattrone joins Dan Rincon to form a phalanx of interlocking double drums, alternately propelling and fleet footing shifting ground to pinion Dwyer’s cliff-face guitars to the boogie. Tim Hellman keeps it swinging like a battle-axe to the eyebrows. The tunes veer towards the violence of their live shows, with a few tasty swerves into other lanes… heavy to lush, groovy to stately… throughout it remains sinister in its swaggering skulk, manic in its fuzz-fried fugues… they hit all the sweet spots the heads foggily remember, and there’s plenty to sweat over if you just hopped into the sauna. Ew. More evil…more complex… more narcotic… more screech…. more blare…. more whisper… there’s even more Brigid. Less “Thee”, but more of everything else.


Darryl says: So here we are again, John Dwyer and co. hit the Piccadilly Records End Of Year Top 10 with another staggering album. So what’s changed from last year’s double header winners ‘An Odd Entrances’ and ‘A Weird Exits’? Well, having dropped Thee from their name, Oh Sees have added another drummer to the percussive maelstrom providing an interlocking double-drum accompaniment to their already impressive psych-rock groove. Of course, ‘Orc’ still provides the usual shards of cliff-face noise guitar moments, but the dual drumming has drawn out some of the songs, with extended jamming coming to the fore over the shuffling Can-esque kosmische beat. There’s gentler moments too, with the addition of vocals from Brigid Dawson on a few tracks providing a welcome balance to the proceedings before we’re off again lurching between huge bone-rattling riffs and Dwyer’s vocal screeches. ‘Orc’ is Oh Sees at the very top of their game, a magical sprawling classic.


01 “The Static God”
02 “Nite Expo”
03 “Animated Violence”
04 “Keys To The Castle”
05 “Jettisoned”
06 “Cadaver Dog”
07 “Paranoise”
08 “Cooling Tower”
09 “Drowned Beast”
10 “Raw Optics”

Back to top