Various Artists / Cliff Martinez

Drive - OST (Curacao Blue Vinyl)

Image of Various Artists / Cliff Martinez - Drive - OST (Curacao Blue Vinyl)
Record Label

About this item

Cliff Martinez’s soundtrack to the cult classic film ‘Drive’ by Nicolas Winding Refn is turning 5, and to mark the anniversary, Invada Records and Lakeshore Records will co-release a limited edition version of the soundtrack, which features Martinez’s score and all other music used in the film, which includes the legendary tracks by Kavinsky, College and Desire. 

The soundtrack features original music by Cliff Martinez (The Lincoln Lawyer, Traffic) with Euro-synth-styled songs by Kavinsky & Lovefoxxx (“Nightcall”), The Chromatics (“Tick of the Clock”), Desire (“Under Your Spell”), College featuring Electric Youth (“A Real Hero”), and Riziero Ortolani featuring Katyna Ranieri (“Oh My Love”). Rolling Stone Magazine named Drive the No. 1 movie of 2011.

“One thing that was unique for me about this project was having songs exert such a strong influence on the score,” said Martinez. “That helped to create a unified, one-size-fits-all, style of soundtrack…the 80s electronic pop style made a lot of sense to me. I knew that Nicolas [Refn, director] was in love with that sound and I saw a way to acknowledge it with vintage synth sounds and cover most of the dramatic food groups while referencing that style.” 

This blending of score and song is the perfect vehicle for Cliff Martinez. Martinez moved to California in 1976, just in time for the punk movement. He had stints as drummer for the Weirdos, Lydia Lunch and Foetus frontman Jim Thirlwell, the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Dickies. He was also the drummer in the final incarnation of legendary iconoclasts Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band.

This release features brand new liner notes written by the score’s composer Cliff Martinez, and by the film’s director Nicolas Winding Refn, along with stunning brand new artwork by Lakeshore Records Art Director John Bergin.


1 Nightcall - Kavinsky & Lovefoxxx
2 Under Your Spell - Desire
3 A Real Hero (Feat. Electric Youth) - College & Electric Youth
4 Oh My Love (Feat. Katyna Ranieri) - Katyna Ranieri & Riz Ortolani
5 Tick Of The Clock - The Chromatics
6 Rubber Head - Cliff Martinez
7 I Drive - Cliff Martinez
8 He Had A Good Time - Cliff Martinez
9 They Broke His Pelvis - Cliff Martinez
10 Kick Your Teeth - Cliff Martinez
11 Where's The Deluxe Version? - Cliff Martinez
12 See You In Four - Cliff Martinez
13 After The Chase - Cliff Martinez
14 Hammer - Cliff Martinez
15 Wrong Floor - Cliff Martinez
16 Skull Crushing - Cliff Martinez
17 My Name On A Car - Cliff Martinez
18 On The Beach - Cliff Martinez
19 Bride Of Deluxe - Cliff Martinez

Back to top