Atelier Du Mal

Noblesse Oblige

Image of Atelier Du Mal - Noblesse Oblige
Record Label

About this item

Atelier du Mal were formed in Florence in 1983 by Lapo Pistelli (synths, electronic drums), Iacopo Ficai Veltroni (bass, synth) and Ignazio Matteini
(drum programming, percussions). Recorded in 1984, "Noblesse Oblige" was the first and subsequently the only demo tape by the group, self-released using classic gear like Korg MS-20, Roland Tr-606, Roland Tr-808, Roland Juno 60, Roland TB-303. The ten tracks on offer fuse the melancholy vocal melodies, snapping drum machines and propulsive sequences of the early Human League with angular post punk guitars, gloomy basslines and a touch of cinematic new wave. A forgotten gem from Italy's electronic past, returned to the shelves thanks to the mighty Mannequin.


1. A Promise
2. Back To Taiwan
3. Another Kind Of Madness
4. Waiting For Someone
5. Staticita
6. Palau
7. Marienbad
8. Decadence
9. Palau 2
10. Someone's Calling 

Back to top