Julie Byrne

Rooms With Walls And Windows

Image of Julie Byrne - Rooms With Walls And Windows
Record Label
Basin Rock

About this item

Rooms With Walls and Windows was the debut album by Seattle-by-way-of-Chicago-by-way-of-Buffalo singer, songwriter & guitarist Julie Byrne. Blending psychedelic and traditional folk elements, Julie Byrne creates a highly personal and quietly mystical world that echoes the early work of Leonard Cohen & Vashti Bunyan.

Rooms With Walls and Windows' twelve tracks were collected from two limited edition cassette releases, recorded between 2011 & 2012 by Jake Acosta in Chicago, Illinois. Each song was recorded live, with Julie accompanying herself on fingerpicked acoustic guitar. Rooms With Walls and Windows was lovingly remastered by Owen Ashworth & Matthew Barnhart.

Julie Byrne released her second album Not Even Happiness in January to mass acclaim and will take the songs from her two albums on the road throughout the whole 2017.


1. Wisdom Teeth Song 
2. Young Wife 8. Marmalade
3. Attached To Us Like Butcher Wrap 
4. Holiday 10. Emeralds
5. Butter Lamb
6. Piano Music
7. Prism Song
8. Marmalade
9. Vertical Ray
10. Emeralds 
11. Keep On Raging
12. Piano Music For Lucy

Back to top