Don Blackman

Don Blackman

Image of Don Blackman - Don Blackman
Record Label

About this item

Blackman, multi-keyboard wizard played with the biggest names in fusion music including Lenny White & “Twenny-nine”. As a leader and featured recording artist Don’s keyboard, vocal and composing talents all came to shine on this debut LP, “Blackman” originally released on Arista/GRP in 1982. The album became a sensation on the soul, jazz fusion, funk and rare groove scenes leading to it being constantly in demand since. In the UK Don performs every year at “The Jazz Cafe” off the strength of this one album twenty years ago! In 2002 Expansion released his first solo album for Expansion “Listen”. Don toured the world with his band and “The Marcus Miller Band”, “The World Saxophone Quartet”, with jazz and bassist Tuero Nakamura.. His work on the acoustic piano and other keyboards was recorded on Mary J. Blidge’s, “Feel Like A Natural Woman” and Janet Jackson’s “That’s The Way Love Goes” “Nard” was sampled by “Snoop Doggy Dogg” entitled “Hustlers “N” G’s”.

In Demand album First vinyl edition on heavy weight 180g, limited to 1,000 pressing


1. Yabba Dabba Boo
2. Heart's Desire
3. Holding You, Loving You
4. Deaf Hook-Up Connection
5. You Ain't Hip
6. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
7. Since You Been Away So Long
8. Never Miss A Thing

Back to top