Various Artists

New Order Presents BE MUSIC

Image of Various Artists - New Order Presents BE MUSIC
Record Label
Factory Benelux

About this item

New Order Presents Be Music is a compilation of productions by members of iconic Manchester group New Order, including classic dance and electro tracks released on Factory Records between 1982 and 1985, as well as more recent remixes for current artists such as Factory Floor, Marnie, Tim Burgess and Fujiya & Miyagi.

The generic tag Be Music was first used in 1981 and covered studio production work by all four members of New Order: Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert. Sumner often teamed with Donald ‘Dojo’ Johnson of A Certain Ratio, including the pioneering electro cuts featured here by Quando Quango, 52nd Street, Marcel King, Paul Haig and Surprize. Morris and Gilbert worked with Thick Pigeon, Life, Red Turns To and also 52nd Street. Although more rock orientated, Hook proved he was no slouch on the dancefloor either with the mighty Fate/Hate by Nyam Nyam.

‘Producing was a really important sideline,’ recalls Bernard Sumner of the Factory era. ‘It’s OK doing it because although all the groups are skint, you learn a lot and you're helping somebody.’
After 1985 the band focused more on producing their own records, both as New Order and solo projects such as Electronic, Revenge, The Other Two, Monaco and Bad Lieutenant. However in recent years Stephen Morris in particular has remixed several newer artists, notably London industrialists Factory Floor, as well as former Factory workers A Certain Ratio and Section 25.
Bonus tracks on the 3xCD box set include Knew Noise by Section 25, produced by Ian Curtis and Rob Gretton of Joy Division way back in 1979, and the complete 22 minute version of Video 586, recorded by New Order themselves in 1982.
All tracks (12 on vinyl, 36 on the CD) are newly remastered. The liner notes feature commentary on the tracks by the artists and the members of New Order. Design and packaging are by Matt Robertson/Peter Saville Studio.


Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. 52nd Street Can’t Afford
A2. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)
A3. The Beat Club Security (Remix)
B1. Marcel King Reach For Love
B2. Quando Quango Love Tempo
B3. Nyam Nyam Fate/Hate
C1. A Certain Ratio Bootsy (Swingfire Mix)
C2. Factory Floor ~(Real Love)
C3. Marnie The Hunter (Remix)
D1. The Other Two Inside
D2. Fujiya & Miyagi Daggers (Remix)
D3. Tim Burgess Oh Men (02 Mix)

CD Tracklist:
CD #1
1. Quando Quango Love Tempo
2. Marcel King Reach For Love
3. 52nd Street Cool As Ice
4. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)
5. Nyam Nyam Fate/Hate
6. The Beat Club Security (Remix)
7. Paul Haig The Only Truth
8. Shark Vegas You Hurt Me
9. Marcel King Keep On Dancin
10. Section 25 Reflection
11. Quando Quango Tingle
12. Surprise Over Italia

CD #2
1. 52nd Street Can’t Afford
2. Thick Pigeon Babcock + Wilcox
3. A Certain Ratio Bootsy (Swingfire Mix)
4. Factory Floor ~(Real Love)
5. Section 25 Another Hilltop
6. The Other Two Inside
7. Marnie The Hunter (Remix)
8. Fujiya & Miyagi Daggers (Remix)
9. Tim Burgess Oh Men (02 Remix)
10. Factory Floor A Wooden Box (Remix)
11. Life Tell Me
12. Life Tell Me (Theme)

CD #3
1. Peter Hook Lavolta Lakota Theme
2. Section 25 Knew Noise
3. Stockholm Monsters All At Once
4. The Royal Family & The Poor Motherland
5. Winston Tong Theoretical China
6. The Beat Club Security (Dub)
7. Marcel King Reach For Love (US Mix)
8. Thick Pigeon Jess + Bart (Remix)
9. Red Turns To Deep Sleep
10. Ad Infinitum Telstar
11. Section 25 Sakura
12. New Order Video 586 

You may also like

Back to top