Various Artists

Shir Khan Presents Dancing & Romancing

Image of Various Artists - Shir Khan Presents Dancing & Romancing
Record Label
Exploited Recordings

About this item

Shir Khan’s Exploited Recordings has always stood out as a label with serious ambitions. From the consistent quality of its prolific output to its early championing of many a dance music star to its diverse array of sounds, it has felt like a highly accomplished offering even since its earliest days. Now one of house music’s biggest labels, it has come a long way since its humble beginnings in Berlin. Dancing & Romancing gives a snapshot of the imprint’s last five years, charting its story from contender to heavyweight in stunning fashion. Label boss Shir Khan’s excellent A&R skills proceed him by this point, but taking stock of just a fraction of what he’s signed along the way in these 30 tracks really drives his reputation home. From breaking Claptone as an unknown artist to helping him become one of the biggest-selling names in dance music to introducing the world to other major players like Adana Twins, Doctor Dru and Joyce Muniz, he has unearthed a staggering amount of talent in such a short space of time.

Browse through the label’s 150+ releases and you’ll also see an impressive plethora of acclaimed names from across the house, techno and disco sphere: Metronomy, Modeselektor, Siriusmo, Munk, Julio Bashmore, Michael Mayer, Fort Romeau, Untold, John Tejada, Phil Weeks, Riva Starr, Cosmin TRG, Freeform Five, DJ Sneak, Locked Groove, Deetron, Detroit Swindle, Acid Pauli, Ralph Lawson, Fred Falke… the list goes on and on.

Dancing & Romancing showcases some of the label’s high points from the last half decade, attempting to provide a summary of what Exploited is all about. From resolute club bangers to tracks that sound as good on your home stereo as they do on the dancefloor, it’s a compilation that reminds us that dance music is no longer simply the preserve of the clubs but something bigger and further-reaching than it’s ever been.

Big vocal anthems like Claptone feat. Jaw’s No Eyes and Murphy Jax feat. Mike Dunn’s Let’s Get To It sit alongside charismatic instrumentals such as dreamy Cocolores’ Vox and Urulu’s rolling 1991. Sample-heavy classics like Adana Twins’ Strange and Doctor Dru’s Voice Of Dru contrast with the cutting-edge freshness of Light Year’s Never Know and Sirens Of Lesbos’ 7 Years In Tibet. We’re reminded of the the number of excellent new vocalists who have graced the label, from Anabel Englund’s seductive tones alongside Human Life on El Diablo to Daudi Matsiko’s haunting delivery with Kyodai on Houston In The Blind.

From nu disco to acid to melodic techno to fist-pumping house, the breadth of the label’s output is neatly encapsulated in these 30 enduring tracks. 


01. Compuphonic - Radio Atlantis
02. Adana Twins - Drive Feat. Khan
03. Claptone - Night On Fire
04. Cocolores – Vox
05. Murphy Jax Feat. Mike Dunn - Lets Get To It
06. Moodymanc – Joy
07. Homework - Ask Yourself (Audiojack’s Chemical Rewind)
08. Munk - Happiness Juice (Satin Jackets Remix)
09. Sirens Of Lesbos - Long Days, Hot Nights (Claptone Remix)
10. Dino Lenny - I’m Coming Home
11. James Curd - Think You Know Feat. Annabel Weston
12. Joyce Muniz - Back In The Days Feat. Bam
13. Kruse & Nuernberg - Yokohama Nights Feat. Brolin
14. Adana Twins - Bleeding Feat. Human Life

01. Adana Twins – Strange
02. Kyodai & Daudi Matsiko - Houston In The Blind
03. Jimmy & Fred - I See Lights (Karmon Remix)
04. Mickey - Sweet Baby
05. Kyodai - Music Rises Up (Claptone Remix)
06. Homework - Hold Me Tight
07. Doctor Dru - The Voice Of Dru
08. Claptone - No Eyes Feat. Jaw
09. Nils Penner – Bubbles
10. Adana Twins – Everyday
11. Doctor Dru – Foolish
12. Compuphonic - The Sun Does Rise Feat. Marques Toliver
13. Human Life & Anabel Englund - El Diablo
14. Sirens Of Lesbos - 7 Minutes In Tibet
15. Urulu – 1991
16. Light Year - Never Know

You may also like

Back to top