The Detroit Cobras

Mink, Rat Or Rabbit

Image of The Detroit Cobras - Mink, Rat Or Rabbit
Record Label
Third Man Records

About this item

Continuing their commitment to celebrating and shining a light on classic and influential music from Detroit, Third Man Records is honored to be able to re-introduce the world to the undeniable importance of the Detroit Cobras. As one of the earliest salvos in the great Detroit garage explosion of the turn of the century, the Detroit Cobras Mink, Rat or Rabbit is a landmark album. Comprised solely of cover songs (as has always been the band’s MO) the Cobra’s spirited takes on Motown classics (“I’ll Keep Holding On” originally by the Marvellettes), garage punk laments (“Bad Girl” originally known as “Bad Man” by the Oblivians) girl group Tear-Jerkers (“Easier to Cry” originally by the Shangri-Las) and New Orleans soul standards (“Break-a-way” originally by Irma Thomas) and the end result is nothing short of a staple that any record collection is empty without.


1. Cha-Cha Twist
2. I'll Keep Holding On
3. Putty (In Your Hands)
4. It's Easier To Cry
5. Bad Girl
6. The Slummer The Slum
7. Midnite Blues
8. You Knows What To Do
9. Can't Do Without You
10. Hittin' On Nothing
11. Out Of This World
12. Chumba
13. Break-a-way

Back to top