Image of Tangents - Stateless
Record Label
Temporary Residence Ltd.

About this item

Stateless is the second full-length album of genre-hopping post-everything experimentalists Tangents. In a delectable hybrid of styles, Stateless cuts up and weaves together rich instrumental passages from the multi-talented ensemble of musicians whose collective resume spans decent swathes of recent experimental music history: British electronic music producer Ollie Bown (Icarus, Not Applicable); Adrian Lim-Klumpes (Triosk, 3ofMillions) on piano, Rhodes, vibraphone and marimba; Peter Hollo (FourPlay String Quartet) on cello; and the duo Spartak (free improviser Evan Dorrian and singer/producer Shoeb Ahmad on drums and guitar respectively). Sparse metal-coated drum hits stumble over glistening reverse vibes, Saharan guitar licks, Fender feedback and washes of filtered piano. Moments of acoustic jazz surface, flowing into stoic upbeat anthems, drenched with multilayered patterns of glitched strings.

RIYL: Nils Frahm, Tortoise, Dawn Of Midi, Hauschka..  


Barry says: Experimental electronic Jazz-ish sounds on Temporary residence. Reminiscent of former TRR signings The Drift but slightly less 'Drifty' (sorry). Swooning atmospheric jazz numbers but with rhythm, driving but not heavy. A triumph of substance and style, and a must-have for lovers of jazz, and those not-so-keen alike. Brilliant.


1. Jindabyne (7:07)
2. Oberon (12:46)
3. Masist Cau (6:40)
4. Directrix (1:40)
5. N-mission (6:22)
6. Along The Forest Floor (5:18)
7. Maze Crescent – Part I (6:20)
8. Maze Crescent – Part II (3:38)

9. Jindabyne (Four Tet Remix) (7:08)
10. Dank Memes & Things (the Cheech Diva's Evensong In The Time of Orange Skinned Camachos And shrill DM Masons) (6:15)
11. N-mission (Rabit Remix) (3:48)

Back to top