Pere Ubu

Song Of The Bailing Man

Image of Pere Ubu - Song Of The Bailing Man
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

Released in 1982, 'Song of the Bailing Man' is an ‘inspired, invigorating, confounding, disturbing... yeah, one hell of a swinging way to go. Still the futility Ubu must have felt making far sighted music in a chronically near-sighted world is pressed hard into these grooves.’ (Melody Maker, David Fricke).

The album features in new LP box set, ‘Architecture Of Language 1979-1982’, released in March. It gathers together ‘New Picnic Time’ with its companion releases, ‘The Art Of Walking’ and ‘Song Of The Bailing Man’ plus LP of extras, ‘Architectural Salvage’. Spring dates mark the release of the box with a set list drawn exclusively from the recordings of 1975-1982. Tom Herman, guitarist from 1975 to 1979 and from 1997 to 2002, rejoins the band for the tour. The line-up is David Thomas, Tom Herman, Robert Wheeler, Michele Temple and Steve Mehlman. Wheeler and Temple have been in Pere Ubu since 1994, Mehlman since 1995. 


01 The Long Walk Home
02 Use Of A Dog
03 Petrified
04 Stormy Weather
05 West Side Story
06 Thoughts That Go By Steam
07 Big Ed’s Used Farms
08 A Day Such As This
09 The Vulgar Boatman Bird
10 My Hat
11 Horns Are A Dilemma

Back to top