Julia Kent


Image of Julia Kent - Asperities

About this item

Asperities is the fourth solo album by acclaimed Vancouver-born, New York-based cellist Julia Kent.

Her extensive résumé includes recent work with Swans, Aidan Baker, Rachel Grimes, Rutger Zuydervelt, Barbara Morgenstern, Library Tapes and Khan of Finland.

File alongside: Nils Frahm, Hauschka, Hildur Gudnadóttir, Colleen, A Winged Victory For The Sullen, Peter Broderick, Owen Pallett, Olafur Arnalds.

Utilising treated cello and electronics, Kent creates a world where the technological and the organic merge in perfect symbiosis, the layers of sound peeling back to reveal a beating, bloody human heart at its centre.

Accurately described as “elegant and intense” and “deeply personal”, Kent draws from a rich well of emotion. There is tension, darkness and masterful restraint in this work.

Recorded, produced and mixed in its entirety by Julia in her New York studio.

Julia Kent rose to prominence with cello trio Rasputina and as arranger and performer in Antony & The Johnsons.

Kent has also composed for film, theatre and dance. Recent cinematic work includes the documentaries The Boxing Girls of Kabul and Rwanda, L’Impossible Pardon, American feature AShort History of Decay, as well as the award-winning short film Oasis.

Her first solo albums, Delay (2007) and Green and Grey (2011), were released by Important Records in North America.
*Her most recent solo record, Character (2013), was released to critical acclaim on The Leaf Label

As a solo artist Julia has toured extensively in Europe and North America and performed atfestivals including Primavera Sound, Reeperbahn, Unsound, and Meltdown

The album is packaged with collage artwork by Canadian artist Anthony Gerace (a-gerace.com)

On Character: “A listening experience of nearly cavernous depth and poetic beauty” - 4/5 AllMusic

“This sublime performer has found her true voice...inspiring the possibility that every subsequent album will be her greatest” - A Closer Listen

“Emotionally and stylistically direct... To achieve such directness and freedom of expression through the cello – to many listeners an instrument so closely tied to its past and cultural saturation – is no mean feat” - Dummy

On Green And Grey: “Arguably the prettiest album of the year” 4.5/5 eMusic

“Kent surrounds a fabric of gorgeous cello melodies with excerpts of burbling brooks and chirping cicadas, letting the sounds sit closely but distinctly in one same ruminative space. Strangely and surprisingly intimate” Pitchfork

“Julia Kent wrenches swirling, atmospheric symphonies from a cello, her hard-working loop pedal, and an always-mesmerizing arsenal of intimate field recordings” The Village Voice

“Julia Kent plays cello with the painfully bitter sweet pensive finesse for which it was designed” The Silent Ballet.


1. A1.Hellebore
2. A2. Lac Des Arcs
3. A3. The Leopard
4. A4. Flag Of No Country
5. B1. Terrain
6. B2. Empty States
7. B3. Heavy Eyes
8. B4. Invitation To The Voyage
9. B5. Tramontana

Back to top