Pascal Comelade

Traffic D'Abstraction

Image of Pascal Comelade - Traffic D'Abstraction
Record Label

About this item

As well known from both sides of the Pyrenees to Japan, Pascal Comelade is a catalan musician living in Dalì’s country. After living in Barcelona, where he founded his Bel Canto Orquestra in 1985, he released his first album in 1975 called « Fluence ». This first work was definitely inspired from electronic music influences, especially by Richard Pinhas’s band, Heldon.

Comelade likes making links between arts, mixing music with graphic designs and literature. It is indeed one of the first concerns of the composer not to stay locked in patterns and codes specific to a style. Painter Robert Combas created the original artwork of the album. For this reissue, Combas’s second painting, which was on the inside of the CD booklet, was replaced at the back of the main jacket. At the time of the release album, he accompanies on piano Robert Combas and François Boirond’s visual performance in Paris, Porte de Champerret.

For this reissue, LP limited vinyl is numbered to 500 copies worldwide. Comelade kept songs he judges the best from the original album. He also completed a few of them, and replaced some tracks by other alternative versions and unpublished pieces he composed in the same time.

Moreover, we will rediscover the animation clip of “The Skatalan Logicofobism” in the CD extra included in the gatefold. Florence Deygas and Olivier Kuntzel especially realized the clip for this track in Paris in 1994. 


A1 Arthur Cravan Was A Flor Fina 
A2 The Skatalan Logicofobism  
A3 Sardana Dels Desemparats  
A4 I Put A Barbara Steele On You
A5 À La Recherche Du Baron Corvo
A6 L’Orquestra Del Titanic Plays That’s Amore
A7 Dance Du Valseur Callipyge
B1 Dansa Del Sombre Fakir D’Alcoi
B2 4 Rroses Pour Marie
B3 Also Sprach Ed Marimba
B4 Sunny Afternoon
B5 Like A Rolling Stone
B6 Portrait D’Enric Avec Son Chapeau
B7 Souvenir De Vernet-Les-Bains

Back to top