Various Artists

DJ Kicks - DJ Koze

Image of Various Artists - DJ Kicks - DJ Koze
Record Label

About this item

DJ Koze - with his friendly and sometimes slightly melancholic take on the world - is one of the greatest auteurs of club music today, and one of the few internationally active DJs who dares to make music that has relevance beyond the dancefloor.

During the 70-minute journey on his DJ Kicks - the 50th edition in the series - Kosi Kos manages to establish a uniform colour even though genres alternate in a way that is rarely heard on a mix CD: the stripped down hip hop of Madlib, brutalist Berghain techno, timeless songwriting, floating indie-pop and outlier numbers that oscillate between absurdity and melancholy. Koze's disregard for the stylistic yoke presents him with an immense challenge. Hence, almost all the tracks are more or less edited, and one is fully rhymed (Session Victim: Hyuwee).

Koze rambles on here himself: "I didn't want to kick around sophisticated knowledge, but rather try and weave together some good gems that would make sense to anyone, even people who aren't necessarily music nerds". But this is blabbing that you can count on, also because he approaches the term "mix" from a different angle and doesn't even try to make something fit that doesn't fit: "During the day, I don't need to hear anything that's mixed on the beat. I put the focus on making sure that it works harmoniously – the idea is more to create the impression of a radio show, like people such as John Peel did so uniquely. There is a giant cosmos of music and it runs through my filter".


1 DJ Koze - I Haven't Been Everywhere But It's On My List (DJ-Kicks) 2:58
2 Dimlite - Can't Get Used To Those (Afterlude) 1:31
3 Efdemin - Ohara 1:23
4 Clouddead - Dead Dogs Two (Boards Of Canada Remix) 5:05
5 Strong Arm Steady - Best Of Times (Instrumental) 3:57
6 Homeboy Sandman - Holiday 4:09
7 Freddie Gibbs & Madlib - Shame (Instrumental) 3:05
8 MNDSGN - Camelblues 2:32
9 Broadcast - Tears In The Typing Pool 2:12
10 Daniel Lanois - Carla 2:02
11 The 2 Bears - Modern Family 2:10
12 Hi-Tek - Come Get It (Tekstrumental) 3:39
13 William Shatner - It Hasn't Happened Yet 3:49
14 Marker Starling - In Stride 4:53
15 Session Victim - Hyuwee 3:47
16 Frank & Tony Feat. Gry - Bring The Sun 8:20
17 Marcel Fengler - Jaz 5:59
18 Portable Feat. Lcio - Surrender 5:04
19 The Gentle People - Superstar 3:16
20 DJ Koze - DJ-Kicks (Continuous Mix) 69:29

You may also like

Back to top