The Leisure Society

The Fine Art Of Hanging On

Image of The Leisure Society - The Fine Art Of Hanging On
Record Label
Full Time Hobby

About this item

The Leisure Society release their fourth album The Fine Art of Hanging On, via Full Time Hobby. The intricate production, playing, arrangements, songwriting and broad-ranging instrumentation all indicate an outfit at their most purposeful and assured best.

Alongside an audible new creative peak tied together by a distinct theme, The Leisure Society’s acclaimed prior trademarks are still present - namely Nick Hemming’s intensely personal and honest lyrics which adorn the band’s warm, timeless, seamless blend of folk, grandiose pop and indie.

“‘The Fine Art of Hanging On’ is a recurrent, linking theme, although this wasn’t an intentional concept album”, explains Nick. “It’s about clinging to something - be that a relationship, a career, or life itself.

All the way through writing the album a friend of mine was battling cancer. I reached out by sending him the rough demos of this album. By giving him this access to the work in progress and by him giving feedback, we formed a close bond. Sadly he lost his battle, but his input and presence is there in the album.”

With ‘The Fine Art of Hanging On’ the band have perhaps created their most cohesive body of work yet, and they have embraced the theme with original artwork once again provided by acclaimed young illustrator Owen Davey, a long-term Leisure Society collaborator.

“Nick Hemming is a musician of striking gifts” The Independent
“A band that continues to grow into their story” The Line of Best Fit


1: The Fine Art Of Hanging On
2: Nothing Like This
3: Tall Black Cabins
4: The Undefeated Ego
5: Outside In
6: I'm A Setting Sun
7: You Are What You Take
8: You'll Never Know When It Breaks
9: All Is Now
10: Wide Eyes At Villains
11: As The Shadows Form

Back to top