Balearic . Yacht Rock . New Age . Downbeat


Genre pick of the week Cover of Back To Mine: Tycho by Various Artists.

Various Artists

Back To Mine: Tycho

    As well as being renowned for his photographic and design work under the name ‘ISO50’, Tycho’s music is a blend of various stylistic components, namely in the indie/electronica world blending downtempo guitar, analogue synths and ambient elements such as breathing sounds and excerpts from weather broadcasts and dialogue.

    For the majority of Back To Mine artists, music was always their first love. For Scott Hansen however it was all about graphic design, drawing and photography until a friend at college gave him some damaged audio equipment. “I had just ventured into electronic music via early drum & bass and suddenly my mind started to wonder how music was made and about the whole creative process.” It was this passion for LTJ Bukem and Roni Size that set the base for the career of the San Francisco-based producer, composer, musician and creative force behind his twice Grammy nominated Tycho project. Intertwining carefully crafted visuals with a pulsating combination of ambience, samples, guitars and synthesizers, the Tycho story is now six albums old since the arrival of ‘Past Is Prologue’ in 2006.

    “I have been making music for over 25 years, but I feel like I am just beginning,” he laughs from his west-coast studio. “For my Back To Mine album I wanted to take things one step further than one of my club or Burning Man sets as I knew this was an opportunity to enter that whole headphone, other worldly, cinematic, soundscape space. I wanted the album to be almost like a dream sequence for the listener.”

    Another highlight in the series for Back To Mine, who have already delivered recent stand out editions from the likes of Jungle, Fatboy Slim and Nightmares On Wax. This edition from Tycho is another timeless collection in the long standing and sought-after collectable series.


    A1. Tycho - Spectre (Bibio Remix)
    A2. Casino Versus Japan - It's Very Sunny
    A3. Lancaster - Last Sunset
    A4. Nate Mercereau - Of Course That's Happening
    A5. Craft Spells - Our Park By Night
    B1. Panama - Destroyer
    B2. Muddy Monk - Divine
    B3. Schneider TM - Frogtoise
    B4. Luke Abbott - Modern Driveway
    C1. Little Dragon - Little Man (Tycho Remix)
    C2. Weval - You Made It (Part II)
    C3. Tourist - Elixir
    C4. Octo Octa - Beam Me Up (Please Take Me Away Mix)
    D1. Tycho - Local
    D2. Ulrich Schnauss - In All The Wrong Places
    D3. Tycho - PBS - Live Edit
    D4. Slowdive - Sugar For The Pill (Radio Edit)

    Originally from Auckland, NZ and now London based Louis Anderson-Rich, known amongst the dance world as Manuel Darquart, makes his return to the inimitable favourite white label Semi Delicious. With two appearances on various artist compilations in the past, and a slew of releases since 2017 on labels including Wolf Music Recordings, Infinite Pleasure and Seb Wildblood’s Coastal Haze imprint – the time has come for Manuel to deliver his unquestionably chic sounds with a larger-than-life Italo-house EP entitled ‘Turbo Shandy’.

    Tangling the roots of Italo-house from yesteryear with a forward thinking, dynamic approach to his arrangements and mix, Manuel Darquart steps off the precipice with the title track ‘Turbo Shandy’. A constantly rolling and evolving piece of synth laden ecstasy with reverberating snares and metric hats for an authentic 90’s feel. ‘For You’ follows, a rhythmic groove with Roland toms and crunchy hats setting the stage for swathes of rompler style SFX and a carefully-building progression that brings swirling synth pads and bold lead lines throughout.

    The percussion-party continues with ‘In The Club At 5am’, a perfect perker to perk up the dance in the wee-hours. Soothing sore rave joints and ecstatic muscles while the sun rises outside; tremulating basslines join cascading chord phrases for a final surge of late night energy.

    The EP is closed down with ’89 When Things Were Fine’, a triumphant closing piece that’s joined by a superb remix from label boss Demi Riquísimo. Both combining punchy basses and splashy, immersive drum grooves at contrasting paces, each with their signature touch.


    A1 Turbo Shandy (Original Mix)
    A2 For You (Original Mix)
    A3 In The Club At 5am (Original Mix)
    B1 89 When Things Were Fine (Original Mix)
    B2 89 When Things Were Fine (Demi Riquisimo Remix)

    Fujiya & Miyagi

    Slight Variations

      We like the idea that if someone were new to us and they played this record it would convey everything that we are about

      To convey the almost 20 year career of the band is to take a deep dive into all forms of electronic music - from pop to house to disco to acid - along with nods to 1970s Germany, psychedelia, funk and art pop. And that's exactly what this record does, while also capturing the duality of a band who can craft meticulously constructed studio music as seamlessly as they can lock into unpredictable yet infectious grooves on stage.


      Slight Variations
      Non- Essential Worker
      New Body Language
      Digital Hangover
      Olympian Heights
      Feeling The Effects (of Saturday Night)

      Garagen Uwe’s debut studio album on Beatbude Records. Nine springy instrumentals with features by Ralph Heidel and Sebastian Alexander Gieck. Styles traverse early morning Balearic sunrises, late night boogie jams, sunlounger funk and beachball house. Displaying expert yet reserved synth work, exquisite drum programming and a delicious grasp of harmony mood and rhythm.

      RIYL: Turqoise Summers, Dam Funk, Andras Fox & Art Wilson.



      A1. Low Lights
      A2. Perm
      A3. Root Stretch
      A4. Natural Shading
      B1. H2O2
      B2. Dip Dye
      B3. French Cut
      B4. Foilayage
      B5. Tortoiseshell

      P&F Recordings takes a quick break from original material to welcome back everyone’s favourite Episcopalian Minister/DJ: JAZ.

      When it comes to left-field floor fillers, JAZ (née John Zahl) is in a league of his own. Over the past 13 years, he's churned out celebrated home listening mixes, jaw-dropping DJ sets, and extended edits with a pace that belies the usual slow-motion tempo of the majority of his selections.

      Here, he serves up four colourful, cosmic, dance floor delights. EP opener ‘Cloud Worship’ marries a chugging prog-rock-esque bassline with virtuosic synth work. Then ‘Pick a Toy’ gets us sweating with some serious Caribbean flair.

      On the flip side, ‘Puzzle’ delivers exotic chants and an infectious, serpentine beat - and lastly ‘Friday Night’ closes things out with infectious, retro positivity.

      While one might wonder how JAZ consistently unearths these obscure -yet essential- gems, it's obvious that he's driven by a higher purpose.

      Let the ceremonies begin!


      A1. Cloud Worship
      A2. Pick A Toy
      B1. Puzzle
      B2. Friday Night

      Back to top