Near Paris

Near Paris - Oxblood Vinyl Pressing

Image of Near Paris - Near Paris - Oxblood Vinyl Pressing
Record Label
Medical Records

About this item

Medical Records in collaboration with Crispy Nuggets blog is proud to present a compilation / reissue of the rare 4 song EP by Near Paris released in 1985 + 7 unreleased / unheard songs recorded during the same time.

Near Paris hailed from Columbus, Ohio and was composed of Gerald F. Nelson and Dana Riashi. Gerald and Dana (in addition to Robert Crise) had previously made up the band Post Industrial Noise before they disbanded in 1983. By 1985, Near Paris were quite popular in the Columbus music scene and had opened for such bands as Section 25. They made a name for themselves as Columbus’ only synth-driven pop duo and even won several local awards. They often played in art galleries as well as worked on original scores for local dance troupes and other art-related endeavors.

The band released one long out of print 12” EP which is included on this LP. The EP contains excellent new wave tracks such as “Visions” and “Ceiling” The 7 unreleased tracks (hand-picked by Gerald and Dana) follow the same style of deep/moody club-based synthpop and were culled from cassettes which were restored and remastered specially for this vinyl release with outstanding end results. Other standout tracks from the unreleased numbers include “Walk Like A Man” and “Everything Will Change”.


1. Visions 05:36
2. Interlude 01:05
3. Why Baby 06:10
4. Everything Will Change 04:20
5. Believe Me 04:27
6. Shattered Glass 02:54
7. 9-7-9 01:45
8. Hey You 03:33
9. Walk Like A Man 04:42
10. He's Too Fine 03:00
11. Ceiling 03:56

Back to top