Frankie Rose And The Outs

Frankie Rose And The Outs

Image of Frankie Rose And The Outs - Frankie Rose And The Outs
Record Label
Memphis Industries

About this item


"Frankie Rose And The Outs" is the debut album from ex-Vivian Girl Crystal Stilt, and Dum Dum Girl Ms Frankie Rose.

Frankie, with her former bands, has been at the forefront of a scene that mixed the sounds of lo-fi garage, big reverb-drenched Phil Spector-produced 60s girl groups, the noise aesthetic of the Jesus And Mary Chain with a touch of Velvet Underground and a strong DIY ethic to create a sound that’s influenced a new generation of bands around the world.

On her new group’s self-titled Memphis Industries debut, Frankie Rose And The Outs have their heads in the clouds a bit more than Rose’s previous projects.

Listening to the ghostly golden oldie grooves of songs like "Candy" and the pedal-pounding "That’s What People Told Me", it’s as if the Cocteau Twins and Shangri-Las made a split album with the help of a time machine and a freshly-acquitted Phil Spector.


Darryl says: Riding on the current wave of cute 60s bubblegum sounds ala Best Coast comes Frankie Rose's new band. Lo-fi meets Spector-esque reverb meets JAMC's noise aesthetics, and hits now!

Abs says: Includes a gorgeous version of Arthur Russell's "You Can Make Me Feel Bad".


1. Hollow Life
2. Candy
3. Little Brown Haired Girls
4. Lullabye For Roads And Miles
5. That's What People Told Me
6. Memo
7. Must Be Nice
8. Girlfriend Island
9. You Can Make Me Feel Bad
10. Don’t Tred
11. Save Me

Back to top