Trans Europe Express - 2009 Digital Remaster

Image of Kraftwerk - Trans Europe Express - 2009 Digital Remaster
Record Label

About this item

Kraftwerk celebrate Europe's romantic past and shimmering future with a glistening panorama of elegance and decadence, travel and technology. The infinite vistas of "Europe Endless" and "Endless Endless" bookend the album, which includes the unsettling Kafka-esque fable "The Hall Of Mirrors" and the hilarious "Showroom Dummies" - Kraftwerk's elegantly ironic reply to critiques of their deadpan manner. But it is the streamlined rhythmic locomotive of "Trans Europe Express" which dominates with its doppler-effect melodic swerves and hypnotic, pneumatic, piston-pumping rhythm. Along with its sister track, "Metal On Metal" which New York DJ Afrika Bambaataa would re-construct five years later for his own seminal "Planet Rock", this milestone in avant-pop modernism later becomes a crucial influence on the early pioneers of hip-hop & sampling, electro and industrial music. Poetry in motion.


1. Europe Endless (2009 Digital Remaster)
2. The Hall Of Mirrors (2009 Digital Remaster)
3. Showroom Dummies (2009 Digital Remaster)
4. Trans Europe Express (2009 Digital Remaster)
5. Metal On Metal (2009 Digital Remaster)
6. Abzug (2009 Digital Remaster)
7. Franz Schubert (2009 Digital Remaster)
8. Endless Endless (2009 Digital Remaster)

Back to top