Gargantuan - 2024 Reissue

Image of Spooky - Gargantuan - 2024 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

"Gargantuan" is the debut studio album by UK electronic duo Spooky (Charlie May and Duncan Forbes), released by William Orbit's Guerilla Records in March 1993.

Today "Gargantuan" is regarded as a landmark album in the history of progressive house and British dance music. As Guerilla’s standard bearer, they helped coalesce an immersive sound that was neither Detroit, nor Chicago, nor Manchester.

The duo became renowned for being at the forefront of the progressive house scene that emerged in the aftermath of the post-rave comedown, joining fellow acts like Orbital and Underworld in re-casting house music in an energetic live environment.

Gargantuan has been out of print on vinyl since 2006 and is re-released on on double vinyl with original artwork. 


Matt says: Ashamedly, I was unaware of this absolutely epic piece of UK dance music. Shunning the US influence and focussing on free party spirit, expansive scenery, and a distinctly proto-prog mindset, "Gargantuam" remains as timeless and as crucial today as it must have seemed in 1993. Uplifting but without being overly flamboyant, it's full of euphoric dancefloor moments and must have surely gone onto inform countless of producers and the 90s trance and progressive house storms ensued. A true classic that, if you're as ignorant as me, might have slipped you by!


A1. Don’t Panic
A2. Schmoo
A3. Aqualung
B1. Little Bullet Part One
B2. Little Bullet Part Two
C1. Land Of Oz
C2. Something’s Got To Give
C3. Orange Coloured Liquid
D1. Schmoodub
D2. Let Go

Back to top