Thurston Moore

Flow Critical Lucidity

Image of Thurston Moore - Flow Critical Lucidity

About this item

The Daydream Library Series record label has confirmed Thurston’s new full length album Flow Critical Lucidity. The album will arrive in stores on September 20, 2024. Fans of Sonic Youth & Thurston Moore will be delighted to learn that all tracks from the album will be released via vinyl, compact disc & cassette.

Thurston Moore’s forthcoming album, FLOW CRITICAL LUCIDITY is his ninth solo recording. Some of the songs were written & arranged in Europe and The United Kingdom and include lyrical references to their environments and inspired by nature, lucid dreaming, modern dance and Isadora Duncan. The album was arranged at La Becque in Switzerland and recorded at Total Refreshment Studios in London in 2022, and mixed at Hermitage Studios in London with Margo Broom in 2023.

Flow Critical Lucidity comes from a lyric in the single ‘Sans Limites’ and the album sleeve cover art features Jamie Nares’ ‘Samurai Walkman’ — a helmet befitted with tuning forks. Jamie Nares (born in Great Britain) is a life long friend of Thurston Moore from his New York No Wave days and the two have often collaborated in art & music.

SINGLES released surrounding the release of the album: In 2023 Thurston released two singles: the energetic Isadora Duncan inspired ‘Isadora’ with a music video starring Sky Ferreira. ‘Hypnogram’ which the press called “one of the most intensely cerebral cuts Moore has ever released, he blends the more melodic moments of his former band with the layered, heady flourishes of his bassist Deb Googe’s main band, My Bloody Valentine. Emphatically conveying the feeling of dreams, the new material has fans excited for what the American has in store with his next album.” In April of 2024 Thurston shared the stirring Earth Day anthem ‘Rewilding’. The musician delivered chilling lines as he ruminated on the removal of the human hand from nature, “…Don’t stir anything…”. Moore sang about renewal, and a period for friends of the Earth to sleep and realise a natural way by “coralmorphologically dreaming”. The musician said the U.K.’s rewilding movement aspires to reduce human influence on ecosystems.

The Players:
Vocals, Guitar: Thurston Moore
Bass: Deb Googe
Electronics: Jon Leidecker
Piano, organ, guitar, glockenspiel: James Sedwards
Percussion: Jem Doulton
Backing vocals: Laetitia Sadier on ‘Sans Limites’
Lyrics: Radieux Radio, except ‘Shadow’
Recorded in London at Total Refreshment Centre and mixed by Margo Broom


1. New In Town
2. Sans Limites
3. Shadow
4. Hypnogram
5. We Get High
6. Rewilding
7. The Diver
(Bonus Track Included On A Clear Flexi Disc.) – “Isadora (Bedazzled Mix)”

Back to top