Erube Jambo

Image of Unity - Erube Jambo
Record Label
Voom Voom

About this item

1981. A new South African band is making waves. Produced by the team Van Blerk / Roos & Greg Cutler, it includes succulent voices and melodies, psychedelic Moog, Fender Rhodes surrounded by some Afro-folky guitars. A sublime slice of SA soul.

Between 1972 and 1973 Poy-Poy Makhubela appeared on 4 singles with The Young Movers produced by David Thekwane. In 1975, as a lead guitarist, he decided to bring together four musicians to form the band Unity. Jeff Radine (Fender Rhodes, Moog), George Legobye (bass), Edward Modiselle (percussion) and Robert Moema (drum). The members were all from the group The Sound Jaws, except Jeff Radine who was with Rugare and played with Harari, Chicco, The Black Five or Prince Nico.

In 1978, after hearing Unity playing in a club, Mike Tswai joined the band as a manager. Poy-Poy has gone on to have a long career, touring the world and playing with some of the South African’s greats including Brenda Fassie, Don Laka, Blondie & Pappa, Dorothy Masuka as well as Kwaito bands like Alaska, Boom Shaka or Trompies.


A1. Ntsate Loo
A2. Manana
A3. Give Me Your Love
A4. Manejere
A5. Ghiyane

B1. Erube Jambo
B2. Bamsanda Le Maduba
B3. Let's Go And Disco
B4. Babakuwe
B5. Pula Yana

Back to top