Ramona Lisa (Caroline Polachek)

Arcadia - 2023 Indies Exclusive Vinyl Reissue

Image of Ramona Lisa (Caroline Polachek) - Arcadia - 2023 Indies Exclusive Vinyl Reissue
Record Label
Perpetual Novice

About this item

Ramona Lisa was an early alias of Chairlift's Caroline Polachek. This is Polachek’s first self-produced solo record. Completely composed in MIDI, it is a concept album of love songs that are nature allegories, and vice versa, which Polachek calls "Pastoral Electronic Music". The making of Arcadia was a year¬long process that began and ended in an empty studio in Rome's Villa Medici and while on tour with her band, Chairlift. The record was made entirely on a laptop without instruments or external microphones - all vocals were sung directly into the computer, making use of hotel closets, quiet airport gates, and spare dressing rooms. Although the album was created on a laptop, the result is a lush and uncannily tangible world of warm textures, reminiscent of analog tape processes rather than a hard drive. Virtual oboes and organs interweave with synthetic insects and quivering sine waves, animated by Polachek's vocal at it's most delirious and intimate yet.


1. Dominic
2. Arcadia
3. Backwards And Upwards
4. Arcadia Reprise
5. Izzit True What They Tell Me
6. Getaway Ride
7. Wing Of The Parapets
8. Avenues
9. Lady's Got Gills
10. I Love Our World
11. Hissing Pipes At Dawn

Back to top