Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin


Image of Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin - Archetype
Record Label

About this item

Archetype’ is an exorcism of South London’s underground spirit. It’s a sound world which draws on its ancestral echoes as equally as it captures the pulse of a city on the edge of evolution.

The twelve-track collaborative record is the product of two magnetised forces who should almost repel: producer, composer and keyboard player Joe Armon- Jones, and producer / DJ Maxwell Owin.

At the fore of the scene south of the river, they draw on different instincts, different disciplines, different strengths - and converge them to make something which is both challenging and startlingly fresh.

Guest features on the record include Lex Amor, Shabaka Hutchings, Fatima, Rocks FOE, O the Ghost, Mala, Maysia Osu and YUIS.

‘Archetype’ is caught somewhere between the club and the bedroom, both communal and intimate - something common to Joe’s world of jazz, soul and improvisation and Maxwell’s, of the sprawling sounds of hardcore continuum, from jungle to dubstep and drill.


1. Archetype (feat. O The Ghost)
2. Ode 2 Reverb
3. 4Seasons (feat. Rocks FOE)
4. Rago’s Garage (feat. Shabaka Hutchings)
5. Grief (feat. Lex Amor)
6. Don’t Tip Me Over (feat. Fatima)
7. Lost In The Function
8. Do I Keep Going
9. Pedal Bike
10. Sisyphean (feat. O The Ghost)
11. Ikigai (feat. Mala, Marysia Osu & YUIS)
12. Adrenaline/Oxygen

Back to top