Akira Ifukube

Rodan: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Image of Akira Ifukube - Rodan: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Record Label
Death Waltz Recording Co.

About this item

Behold the might of Rodan, the giant monster from the sky! In 1956, Toho unleashed their first colour kaiju picture: RODAN, directed by Ishiro Honda and produced by Tomoyuki Tanaka, is a terrifying tale from the creators of the original Godzilla that sees a giant Pteranodon rise from a deep underground cave after being disturbed by miners. Like the Big G, Rodan has mutated to excessive size after being exposed to nuclear radiation, subsequently soaring free above Kyushu to cause as much mayhem as possible as the JSDF do their best to protect the island from his bloodthirsty rampaging. It was inevitable that the man behind the music of Godzilla would also take on scoring RODAN, and the great Akira Ifukube created a score with a solemn edge as with Godzilla, which makes the music of RODAN fit in the larger universe while allowing it to feel unique to the character. For the main theme, Ifukube introduces a malevolent low piano and brass phrase before cointerpointing it with horns to create a howling menace worthy of Rodan. In contrast, beautiful but melancholy material represents the carnage the monster has brought upon the Earth; in a more upbeat mode, the composer includes another of his jaunty and jazzy marches for the JDSF in the guise of "Get Rodan". It's another Toho triumph from the great maestro Ifukube! (Charlie Brigden)


Side A
1. Main Title
2. The First Victim
3. Tragedy In The Tunnel
4. Meganulon Appears
5. The Terror Of Meganulon
6. The Meganulon Pursuit
7. Cave-In
8. Earthquake
9. Amnesia
10. Tracking Supersonic Speed
11. The Shadow Across The Sky
12. The Birth Of Rodan
13. The Huge Underground Cavern

Side B
1. Rodan Emerges
2. Get Rodan
3. Rodan Flies To Sasebo
4. Rodan And The Saikai Bridge
5. Rodan Attacks Fukuoka I
6. Shockwave Fury
7. Rodan Attacks Fukuoka II
8. The Self-Defense Force Heads To Aso
9. The Great Nature Of Aso
10. Ending

You may also like

Back to top