William Basinski

Melancholia - 2023 Repress

Image of William Basinski - Melancholia - 2023 Repress
Record Label
Temporary Residence Ltd.

About this item

RIYL: Brian Eno, Max Richter, Eluvium, Tim Hecker, John Cage. Originally released a year after the increasingly iconic The Disintegration Loops, a decade later Melancholia still stands as William Basinski's second most beloved album. Originally released on vinyl to commemorate its 10-year anniversary, we now have this limited repress. Remastered from the original recordings and pressed onto audiophile-quality 100% pure virgin vinyl, this limited-edition vinyl reissue is packaged in a stunning gatefold jacket featuring all-new artwork. It is truly a sight and sound to behold.

Like many of Basinski's most soul-stirring works, Melancholia began as a series of short tape loops captured in the early 1980s. Basinski then stored them away for decades, revisiting them at a different time in his life, at which point they took on a stunning new sound all their own - one that many consider to be among the finest of the past decade. "Melancholia is probably the best of Basinski's records until now, even if this is hard for me to say given my love for each one of his releases. This music is so beautifully delicate and sad in its auto-reflective moods, it stands right there with everything ranging from the usual suspects in the 'ambient' field, to a distorted damp ghost of Claude Debussy or Maurice Ravel put into a time machine.” - Touching Extremes.


1. Melancholia I (3:24)
2. Melancholia II (6:49)
3. Melancholia III (1:54)
4. Melancholia IV (4:15)
5. Melancholia V (1:14)
6. Melancholia VI (2:15)
7. Melancholia VII (2:26)
8. Melancholia VIII (3:08)
9. Melancholia IX (3:36)
10. Melancholia X (1:08)
11. Melancholia XI (1:15)
12. Melancholia XII (7:10)
13. Melancholia XIII (2:00)
14. Melancholia XIV (5:53).

Back to top