Immaterial Possession

Mercy Of The Crane Folk

Image of Immaterial Possession - Mercy Of The Crane FolkImage of Immaterial Possession - Mercy Of The Crane Folk
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’ is the beautifully accomplished second album from Athens GA’s Immaterial Possession. A theatrical soundscape littered with subconscious flashbacks, retro keyboard flurries, wandering Morricone-esque guitar and dreamy Sumac-like harmonies.

Featuring the ethereal eerie dream pop of former artist commune residents Cooper Holmes and Madeline Polites, with drummer John Spiegel and Elephant 6 descendant Kiran Fernandes (keyboards, clarinets, flutes). Additional contributions come from drummer Jon Vogt who can be heard on ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’ and ‘Birth Of Queen Croaker’.

It’s a haunting and immersive trip into the inner psyche of these nomadic soothsayers; a psychedelic dance party from a half-lit underground world; breathlessly eerie and all consuming; a salubrious sojourn that sounds like nothing else. Filled with a kind of peculiar optimistic uncertainty that any quest to make sense of a drowsy recollection of simpler and far better times would have; ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’ is soft and serene summoning up a fanciful folkloric place where, undoubtedly, the mysterious crane flock prosper.


Side One
A1 Chain Breaker
A2 Mercy Of The Crane Folk
A3 To The Fête
A4 Medieval Jig
A5 Siren's Tunnel
Side Two
B1 Current In The Room
B2 Ancient Mouth
B3 Cypress Receiver
B4 Birth Of Queen Croaker
B5 Red Curtain

Back to top